Watch: Scrappy Benzema goal ruled out right before halftime
PAUL ELLIS / AFP / Getty
Real Madrid's celebration was cut short after Karim Benzema's goal was ruled offside in the first half of Saturday's Champions League final against Liverpool.
The French striker appeared to break the deadlock minutes before halftime, but after a lengthy VAR check, it was confirmed that Benzema was narrowly offside before finding the back of the net.
The two sides went into the break tied 0-0 at the Stade de France.
(Available to view in U.S. only)
BENZEMA WITH THE BALL IN THE NET. ...But he's ruled offside. 😲 pic.twitter.com/obMLUwCQBF
— Champions League final on CBS & Paramount+ (@CBSSportsGolazo) May 28, 2022
(Available to view in Canada only)
VAR DRAMA AND BENZEMA'S GOAL IS RULED OUT 😮 pic.twitter.com/tp2ETMVYrE
— DAZN Canada (@DAZN_CA) May 28, 2022
HEADLINES
- Mbappe and Rudiger avoid UCL ban for 'indecent conduct'
- Musiala hamstring tear compounds Bayern's injury crisis
- Latest transfer news and rumors: Lookman could lead Man United rebuild
- Permutations in Europe: What's still at stake in final weeks of season?
- World Cup winner Hummels to retire at end of season
Advertisement