Shanahan, Triplette, players react to the controversial ending between Giants/Redskins
The Washington Redskins and New York Giants matchup Sunday night ended with a major gaffe by the officials that had both teams and officials talking after the game.
The confusion was caused when referee Jeff Triplette, and his officiating crew, decided to take back a first down awarded to the Redskins after a second down play. Triplette changed the first down call after the play, and declared the next play a fourth down.
Basically, the RG3 pass attempt on first down, became a third down play, something Coach Shanahan and Robert Griffin III eluded to in their post-game news conference.
In this screen shot, you can see Triplette saying it's third down, when the rest of his crew, and the teams, thought it was a first down.

Shanahan on that last sequence: "Well, I said I wanted a measurement and he said, 'You don't have to, it's a first down.'"
— Chris Burke (@ChrisBurke_SI) December 2, 2013
Shanahan says "coming close but can't finish it." Says he was told final sequence was a first down after Mike asked for measure
— Chris Russell (@Russellmania980) December 2, 2013
Shanahan on mistake at end of game: "It's disappointing."
— NFL: AroundTheLeague (@NFL_ATL) December 2, 2013
Shanahan says he was told that the Redskins got a first down before the end of game 4th down.
— Grant Paulsen (@granthpaulsen) December 2, 2013
Justin Tuck indicates the chain gang screwed up the play at the end, not the officiating crew.
— Bart Hubbuch (@HubbuchNYP) December 2, 2013
"No explanation, no measure, they didn't stop the clock. We just had to go ahead and call the play." - RG3
— Will Brinson (@WillBrinson) December 2, 2013
Griffin says "we were really gelling" and then "shot ourselves in the foot. " says there was a lot of confusion.
— Chris Russell (@Russellmania980) December 2, 2013
RGIII: "If the sticks say first down, you think it's first down." Oof. Tough to swallow that sequence.
— Ian Rapoport (@RapSheet) December 2, 2013
Referee Jeff Triplette told a pool reporter that the "stakes just got moved incorrectly" on that final drive/first down/third down play.
— Zac Boyer (@ZacBoyer) December 2, 2013
Triplette: Crew didn’t stop the clock to measure because “there were no timeouts in this situation. It would’ve given an unfair advantage."
— Bart Hubbuch (@HubbuchNYP) December 2, 2013
Normally play would be stopped. Triplette: “There are no timeouts. We didn’t shut it down because that would have given an unfair advantage”
— Ian Rapoport (@RapSheet) December 2, 2013
More Jeff Triplette to the pool reporter: “I feel like we signaled third down. The stakes just got moved incorrectly.”
— Ian Rapoport (@RapSheet) December 2, 2013