VIDEO: Goal disallowed after Blackhawks' Shaw headbutts puck into net in 2OT
Kelvin Kuo-USA TODAY Sports
Andrew Shaw tried to use his head to end Game 2 of the Western Conference Final between the Chicago Blackhawks and the Anaheim Ducks on Tuesday, but he was foiled by the rulebook.
The Blackhawks forward jumped to headbutt a loose puck into the net midway through the second overtime period and began celebrating as though Chicago won the contest. Unfortunately for Shaw and his teammates, it is illegal to intentionally direct the puck across the goal line with your head, so the goal was disallowed.
Rule 78.5 (i) you can't direct, bat, or throw a puck into the net with something other than a stick. This includes heads
— Bruce Arthur (@bruce_arthur) May 20, 2015
Legal or not, the header shows some nice form by Shaw - especially on skates. Lionel Messi would be impressed.
HEADLINES
- Flames hand Capitals 1st home loss in regulation since late November
- 3 teams that should try to trade for Erik Karlsson
- 'Business decision': Growing hockey requires embracing diverse communities
- 7 NHLers who could use a change of scenery ahead of trade deadline
- Ranking the top candidates to be dealt before the NHL trade deadline
Advertisement