Eovaldi upset after controversial non-strike call sparks Astros' big inning
Boston Red Sox right-hander Nathan Eovaldi thought he struck out Houston Astros catcher Jason Castro to get out of the ninth inning of Game 4 of the ALCS with the score tied. However, home plate umpire Laz Diaz called the 1-2 breaking pitch a ball.
Before the go-ahead base hit, this was the 1-2 pitch to Castro. pic.twitter.com/3PVLW8FFnt
— FOX Sports: MLB (@MLBONFOX) October 20, 2021
Castro laced a go-ahead RBI single two pitches later, which kicked off a huge seven-run ninth for Houston to level the series at two games apiece. Eovaldi was charged with four earned runs in his first relief appearance since 2019.
"Yeah, I thought it was a strike, but, again, I'm in the moment," Eovaldi said following Tuesday's contest, according to Doug Alden of The Associated Press.
Red Sox manager Alex Cora said Eovaldi was upset over the call.
"I got to take a look. Yeah. A lot of people thought it was a strike," the skipper said.
Home-plate umpire Laz Diaz has missed 21 ball-strike calls tonight, according to @ESPNStatsInfo. That is the most of any umpire this postseason. The green dot in the upper RH corner is the Eovaldi curveball that would've ended top of the ninth with the score 2-2.
— Jeff Passan (@JeffPassan) October 20, 2021
It is now 9-2. pic.twitter.com/VzdyL4lth3
Eovaldi acknowledged he can't let what the umpire does impact his ability to perform on the mound.
"You're going to get calls that go your way and some that don't go your way," Eovaldi said. "Our job is to go out there and keep attacking the zone. Whether we get a pitch that goes our way or it doesn't, we have to move on to the next pitch and not let it affect us and keep attacking the strike zone."
Umpire: Laz Diaz
— Umpire Scorecards (@UmpScorecards) October 20, 2021
Final: Red Sox 2, Astros 9#DirtyWater // #ForTheH#BOSvsHOU // #HOUvsBOS pic.twitter.com/PZ6Ei08Q84
The best-of-seven series resumes Wednesday with a pivotal Game 5 at Fenway Park.