Did the Lions get hosed with last-second call?
Stop me if you've heard this one before, but the Detroit Lions fell victim to a questionable decision by the officials at the end of a game.
Trailing by four points to the Atlanta Falcons with 2:23 remaining, Matthew Stafford drove 88 yards to the Atlanta 1-yard line, setting up 3rd-and-goal with 8 seconds to play.
Stafford would then hit Golden Tate on a quick slant, capturing the victory when the receiver dove into the end zone - or so we thought.
Golden Tate doesn't have complete control of the ball until this exact frame. It's a TD. pic.twitter.com/jL15cYPzrX
— Isaac (@WorldofIsaac) September 24, 2017
The play was ruled a touchdown on the field, but overturned upon review with the officials claiming Tate was down short of the goal line.
By rule, the review comes with a 10-second run-off on the clock, meaning the game was over despite the fact the Lions still had 4th-and-goal. Screenshots of the play seem to show that Tate's knee was never down until the ball broke the plane, meaning the touchdown should have stood.
Have your say
HEADLINES
- Trade grades: Evaluating the Steelers-Dolphins blockbuster
- Report: Multiple teams have tried trading for Steelers' Watt
- Dolphins trade Ramsey, Jonnu Smith to Steelers for Minkah Fitzpatrick
- Report: Browns' Watson 'an awesome teammate' to rookies amid QB competition
- 49ers' Lenoir arrested for obstructing law enforcement